Spink County Government
Redfield SD 57469
Spink County Courthouse

[ Home ] [Departments ] [ Commission ] [ Agenda ] [ History ] [ Notices-Announcements ] [ Forms-Documents ] [ Maps ] [ Elections ] [ Employment ] [ Contact ]


get Adobe Reader button
You will need the FREE
Acrobat reader to access some files.

If you have trouble accessing these documents you may obtain information by calling (605) 472-4580

2022 General Election

Date: November 8, 2022      Time: 7 AM to 7 PM CST
Voter Registration Deadline: October 24, 2022 at 5 PM
Absentee Voting Available: September 23 Ė November 7, 2022, Monday through Friday 8 AM Ė 5 PM.

For those sick and confined Absentee Voting is also available November 8, 2022, please contact the Auditorís Office (472-4580) for details.

105:02:05:02.01. Instructions to the voters using optical scan ballots. The instructions to be published with the facsimile ballot for primary and general elections must be in the following form:

spacerThe deadline for registration to vote is 15 days before any election. Your registration card must be received in the Auditor's Office by this deadline if you are to vote in the next election.

spacerBy using the links below, you may print the Voter Registration Form or Absentee Application Form, complete it, sign it and then send it to your county auditor, or fill-out the on-line form, print and send.

Voter Registration Information

Absentee Voting Information

Spink County Auditorís Office is open
Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM for absentee voting.

** 2022 Statewide Ballot Measures **
Constitutional Amendment D
(posted 8/30/22)

Title: An initiated amendment to the South Dakota Constitution expanding Medicaid eligibility.

Initiative Measure 27
(posted 8/30/22)

Title: An initiated measure legalizing the possession, use, and distribution of marijuana.

2022 Statewide Ballot Measures [ Word ] [ PDF ]

View Sample Ballot Here

7-8-1    Number and terms of Office of Commissioners
Staggered terms
7-7-1.1    County Officers to be elected quadrenially
Staggered terms
Each organized county shall have a board of commissioners consisting of not less than three nor more than seven members, each of whom shall be elected at a general election and whose term of office shall be four years.

Any commissioner who represents an even-numbered district shall run for election at the general election at which the President is elected;

Any commissioner who represents an odd-numbered district shall run for election at the general election at which the Governor is elected.

Expiration of term for combined offices. Unless otherwise provided by county charter, at primary and general elections there shall be nominated and elected in each organized county of this state county officers as follows:

spacer(1) In 1974 and each fourth year thereafter, a sheriff, county auditor, and register of deeds;

spacer(2) In 1976 and each fourth year thereafter, a treasurer, state's attorney, and coroner.

The terms of all such officers shall be four years, or until their successors have been duly elected and qualified. Nevertheless, the term of any county office, combined with another pursuant to ß 7-7- 1.2 or 7-7-1.3, shall expire on the first Monday of January following the ordinance authorizing the combination.


County Election

Local Offices to be filled in the 2022 Elections

  • County Commissioner District #1 - 4 year term
  • County Commissioner District #3 - 4 year term
  • County Commissioner District #5 - 4 year term
  • County Auditor - 4 year term
  • County Treasurer - 2 year term
  • County Register of Deeds - 4 year term
  • County Sheriff
  • County Coroner - 2 year term
  • Delegates to Republican Party Convention
  • Precinct committeeman Republican Party Ė 1 per precinct
  • Precinct committeewoman Republican Party Ė 1 per precinct

For a list of all Offices to be filled in the 2022 Election please click here: upcoming-elections/general-information/2022-offices-to-be-filled

mini commissioner district map
arrowCommissioner District Map

commissioner district list
arrowCommissioner Districts

( to enlarge and print click on map/title )
Voter Information
South Dakota Secretary of State
click on
Voter Information Portal

Voting Information

  • Monday May 23, 2022 is the Primary voter registration deadline. (SDCL 12-4-5)

  • Absentee ballots can be requested until 5:00 p.m. on the day before the election. In the event of confinement because of sickness or disability, a qualified voter may apply in writing and obtain an absentee ballot by authorized messenger. An authorized messenger delivers the ballot from the Auditorís Office to the qualified voter and then returns the marked ballot to the Auditorís Office. Any application for a ballot by authorized messenger must be received by the Auditorís Office before 3:00 p.m. the day of the election. ALL absentee ballots must be returned to the Auditorís office prior to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day, they will not be counted if returned to the Auditorís Office after 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.

  • VOTE


Voting Precincts

Precinct #1 Antelope, Belle Plaine, Capitola, Harrison, Prairie Center, Richfield, Spring, Sumner, Turton and Union Townships and Doland City and Turton Town Doland Senior Citizens Center
Precinct #2 Dissolved by Commissioner Motion after hearing on 4/20/04  
Precinct #3 Belmont, Buffalo, Crandon, Garfield, Lake, and Tulare Townships and Tulare Town Tulare Community Hall
Precinct #4 Exline, Great Bend, Groveland, Lodi, Three Rivers, and that part of Redfield Township not included in the Third Commissioner District Redfield Armory
Precinct #5 Cornwall, Frankfort, Harmony, Lincoln, and that part of Clifton Township described as follows: Beginning at the SW1/4 32-118-62 north four (4) miles to NW1/4 17-118-62, thence east five (5) miles to Clifton Twp. line, thence south four (4) miles to Clifton Twp. line, thence west five (5) miles to point of beginning and Frankfort City Frankfort Community Hall
Precinct #6 Athol and Jefferson Townships and that part of Clifton Township described as follows: Beginning at the SW corner of Clifton Twp. north four (4) miles, east three (3) miles, south four (4) miles to Clifton Twp. line, thence west three (3) miles to point of beginning and Ashton City Ashton Community Hall
Precinct #7 LaPrairie, Mellette, Northville and Tetonka Townships and that part of Clifton Township described as follows: Beginning at the NW1/4 of 2-118-63 south two (2) miles, thence east eight (8) miles to SE1/4 12-118-62, thence north two (2) miles, thence west on Clifton Township line eight (8) miles to point of beginning and Mellette City, Northville Town and Brentford Town . Northwestern United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall
Precinct #8 Benton, Beotia, Conde and Olean Townships and Conde City Conde Community Center
Precinct #9 Redfield City, First and Second Wards Redfield Armory
Precinct #10 Redfield City, Third and Fourth Wards Redfield Armory

(County, State, Federal Offices)

 Law Enforcement Cntr
  • Sheriff Department

  •  Courthouse 1st floor
  • Extension Services
  • Emergency Management
  • Health Department
  • Social Services

  •  Courthouse 2nd Floor
  • Auditor
  • Equalization
  • Planning and Zoning
  • Register of Deeds
  • Treasurer
  • Commissioner's Room

  •  Courthouse 3rd Floor
  • Clerk of Courts
  • Courtroom
  • States Attorney
  • Veterans Service

  •  Courthouse Basement
  • Custodial Engineer
  • Community Room

  •   101 E 7th Avenue
  • Spink County Coroner

  •   225 E 8th Avenue
  • Spink County Museum

  •  E Hwy 212
  • Highway Department
  • Weed & Pest


    Voting Information

    Voter Registration Info

    Absentee Application Info

    mini precinct map

    [ Back to Top ]

    Spink County South Dakota
    210 East 7th Avenue     Redfield SD 57469-1299

    patriotic date ribbon